Breakfast for Dinner

Breakfast || Inspired Life with Jess

If you’ve seen my Instagram feed, you probably know I love food. More specifically, I love breakfast foods. For breakfast, lunch or dinner. Isn’t all day breakfast the best?!?!

When Michael goes away, I live off scrambled eggs for almost every dinner. Lately, I’ve decided to dress it up and add some variety to my dinners though. A few reasons beyond variety include eating more nutrients and using up huge amounts of veggies left in the fridge. The fun stuff, of course :S

Along with my less-than-2-minutes-in-the-microwave scrambled eggs, some of the things I have been mixing it up with include roast mushrooms, roast tomatoes or cherry tomatoes, roast capsicum, garlicky buttery spinach and rocket, and cous cous, ham or avocado.

Because breakfast is the best, I wanted to share how I make a few of my extras for my favourite meal ever!

Breakfast || Inspired Life with Jess

Roast Mushroom – Preheat oven to 180°C (360ºF). Put the mushrooms on a tray (if you’re like me, use baking paper under them and you can avoid the extra dish!) and roast for about 20-30 minutes depending how you like them. Easy stuff, right?

Roast Tomato – Using the same preheated oven, cut some tomatoes in half and remove the top bit the stem attached to. Add a little salt and a lot of pepper (or you can adjust it to how you like it instead), and roast for the same amount of time. Oregano or basil also taste awesome on these! If you’re using cherry tomatoes, these just go in plain and uncut, for the same time and temperature.

Roast Capsicum – Deseed a capsicum, and cut it into about 24 pieces (8ths and then 3rds). Spray with spray oil, then add some salt and pepper and any herbs you want, then roast with the same instructions as above. See a trend forming here?

Garlicky Buttery Spinach and Rocket – Melt about 1T butter and 1/2 t garlic in a pot on low heat. Add a large handful of the green stuff, pop the lid on, and stir after about a minute. Leave for another minute, and you’re good! This reduces down to very little, so add more than you think you will want!

Avocado – This doesn’t need any cooking, just chop it up and spread it on some toast instead of butter. Yum!

Cous Cous – Boil the jug, add a 1/4 cup boiling water to a pot with a little stock powder, then add 1/4 cup cous cous and mix through. Sit with the lid on for 5 minutes, then fluff up with a fork. When I make this, I like to mix chopped shallots and the roast capsicum through, but I bet it could be good with butter also.

Ham – I’ve done this a couple of ways… Just using a slice on toast before adding my eggs, or also cooking shredded ham in the scrambled eggs

On the topic of eggs, some of my favourite twists are with Parmesan cheese (the best by far! Grate some and mix it through when it first comes out of the microwave for cheesy goodness!), with salt, pepper and spring onions, or with the ham mixed through. There are lots of things you can do with eggs!

Quick, easy and yummy! Any other good suggestions I should try?

2 thoughts on “Breakfast for Dinner

Leave a Reply

