Book Review: Eat Pray Love

Inspired Life with Jess || Book Review: Eat Pray Love

Eat Pray Love is about a woman’s journey to find what she really wants in life after she finds herself panicked and confused over where she was in life. She had what could be considered a perfect life with a successful career, husband and house, but felt like there was something missing. The book talks about how she left her old life behind and followed her heart to learn about pleasure and indulging in Italy, devotion and faith in India and balance in Indonesia, to come out the other side happy and fulfilled.

I don’t usually read memoirs, or all that much about self-discovery, but this one has been on my reading list for quite a while. I finally brought it when my sisters’ and I decided to start a family book club, and this was the first pick. While I found it harder take in during parts of the book compared to the young adult books I usually choose, I did really enjoy this book, and managed to learn from it as well. It took me about 3 weeks to get through, and most of the way though, it reminded me that we are all responsible for our own happiness, even if it is sometimes hard to work out what it is we want, and even harder to let go of society’s expectations about what we should do.

Elizabeth Gilbert is a very likable character in her own book, and with the way she writes, I found her book to be easy to read. Yes, she glossed over a lot of the harder and more personal details of her tale, but that helps to give the book the upbeat feeling that it has. To be quite honest, if she went too deep into the details about depression or loneliness, it would not have been as interesting a read.

What I would have liked would have been more details about the places that she went… The names of the restaurants, little gems about the places she explored, things like that. I understand this is not just a travelogue though, so I can see how those little details that I love about travel could come across as out-of-place in a story like this. One of the things I really like is that it wasn’t preachy and overly religious, even though she did explore the topics of devotion and faith in India. I think she had an interesting way of exploring it, to say the least!

After reading this book, I now really want to watch the movie as well!

Leave a Reply

