BOLD || 2015 One Little Word

Inspired Life with Jess || Bold

My One Little Word for 2015 is BOLD.

This year, my word chose me in November. I had been thinking about the fact that I’ll need to choose a new word for 2015 for a couple of weeks before it happened. I was having a bad day, one of those days where I was already stressed and overwhelmed and everything seemed to be going wrong when it came to me. I’d had a big discussion with Michael before I headed out to visit my sister. She lives an hour and a half away, so I had a good amount of time by myself in the car to reflect and try and process the feelings I was working through, and it hit me that this year I need to make some bold decisions.

Once the word BOLD was there, I couldn’t stop thinking about it for the rest of the drive. It was perfect! I was struggling with going back to my old role, along with the 1 ½ hour commute each way to work, and realised I need to make some BOLD choices in the new year in relation to work. I also have a wedding to plan, and need to make some BOLD decisions for that, since everyone in our families has a strong opinion on what we should be doing for it. I want to be more BOLD in my relationships with family and friends, especially Michael, and more BOLD in decisions regarding the house, my health and even the everyday little things. This word was screaming at me for so many reasons!

During the last week of December, I was thinking a bit more about my word. I’ve realised it’s not shouting at me as loudly anymore, and doesn’t feel quite as perfect to me, but I think that is just my shy self backing away from the word because it is a scary word when I am naturally a cautious, timid, shy person. I’m sticking with it, because I know that it is what is needed for me to get to where I want to be. I know it will be hard at times, and quite scary, but I’m ready for some big changes, and I want to put myself out there more!

Each month, I will be coming up with 5 BOLD intentions at the start of the month that will help to guide me through the month, similar to my monthly I Choose goals. I have a few overall aims for the year as well, which include cooking each recipe in the Step-By-Step Cook’s Encyclopedia cookbook (110 in total!), making handmade cards for each person in our families for birthdays and celebrations (at least 18 cards), starting a small side crafty side business (to sell at markets and likely an Etsy store), working on Michael’s Christmas present (more to come soon!) and working out what I want to do long term for work.

I look forward to seeing where BOLD takes me in 2015!

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

You can see my posts about my 2015 word, Bold, here. If you don’t know what One Little Word is, you can read more about it in this post from Ali Edwards. I will be undertaking Ali’s One Little Word class again this year, and creating an album about my word and the changes it’s manifesting in my life. You can also listen to Elise Cripe’s podcast episode about One Little Word here.

Leave a Reply

