One Little Word 2014 || Balance

Inspired Life with Jess || Balance

As 2014 is coming to an end, I thought I would share my thoughts on my One Little Word, Balance. Throughout this year, Balance has meant a lot of different things to me. Overall though, it has stayed pretty true to what I was hoping to get out of my word from the start of the year.

I’m not sure it’s possible to have balance constantly, and I’m pretty sure how I feel about balance will change at each different stage of life, but as of right this moment, at this stage in time, I’m feeling pretty good about it! I realised throughout the course of the year that to have balance, I really needed to be clear on what my priorities were at each point in time. Once I was able to narrow that down, it was a lot easier, that’s for sure! It turned out it wasn’t about fitting more in, but about cutting out the unnecessary and being more organised with what was left. And Balance isn’t a word that was easy by any stretch. This word challenged me in a lot of ways, and I do love that I grew from it!

One thing I always want to remember about my word is that Balance definitely does NOT equal perfection. This is something I needed to remind myself of a bit, since I do tend to have perfectionist tendencies. But this year I have managed to embrace imperfection pretty well, and it has opened my life up for more peace and calm, that’s for sure!

As with every year I’ve completed this project, I’m certain Balance will stay with me always. It joined the fold with Choose and Achieve, and it will hang around for many years to come. That is one of my favourite things about this project.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

You can see my posts about my 2014 word, Balance, here. If you don’t know what One Little Word is, you can read more about it in this post from Ali Edwards. I will be undertaking Ali’s One Little Word class again this year, and creating an album about my word and the changes it’s manifesting in my life.

Leave a Reply

