Cool Yule Festival

Cool Yule || Inspired Life with JessCool Yule || Inspired Life with Jess

I found out about a Winter Festival that was being held in Darling Harbour from Mum, and as soon as I heard about it, I wanted to head in and see what was going on! Michael and I headed in for dinner on my birthday to watch some ice carving guys and it was quite a good show, with good music, and watching the guys attack a chunk of ice with chisels and chain saws while dancing around was just an experience in itself!

Cool Yule || Inspired Life with Jess

Cool Yule || Inspired Life with Jess

Cool Yule || Inspired Life with Jess

We headed back on the Saturday afternoon with Mum, my sister and brother-in-law and a couple of Mum’s friends, and randomly ran into my Uncle and his girlfriend. We started off visiting the Lindt shop for lunch so that we could get tickets for the Zorb balls, and I enjoyed an amazing chocolate sundae. I was the last of us to go on the Zorb balls, which were on the Harbour itself, and it was so much fun! I’m amazed at  how hard it was to stay balanced and upright, although I did really well for it. You only got to have like 5 minutes in the ball each, but to be honest, that amount of time was enough, as it was quite exhausting! We all looks a little like rats in a rat ball!

Cool Yule || Inspired Life with Jess

Cool Yule || Inspired Life with Jess

Cool Yule || Inspired Life with Jess

We made it on the merry-go-round (I haven’t been on one of these for 4 years or so, since we were in Europe!) and on the giant slide, which was lots of fun and gave us a good laugh when my sister basically dragged one of the kids down by the arm! There was a winter forest set up, but to be honest, it wasn’t anything all that special, just a heap of white Christmas trees and light up trees set up on a tunnel including hanging from the roof. It looked better from further back than it did up close. We missed out on the NZ snow globe that was meant to be set up though… Apparently it was open until 5pm, but we were at the place it was set up from about 3pm and it was not there for some reason.

Cool Yule || Inspired Life with Jess

Cool Yule || Inspired Life with Jess

Cool Yule || Inspired Life with Jess

The best part of the night was after dinner when my Uncle took us to a bar he likes for cocktails, as we had a seriously amazing view of the Harbour for the fireworks. It was on a second or third story balcony, and we scored seats right at the edge for the display. Good drinks, good company, great view and some amazing photos as well! I took the photos on my big camera, and they are the best fireworks photos I’ve ever taken with it. It was so much fun!

Cool Yule || Inspired Life with Jess

Cool Yule || Inspired Life with Jess

Cool Yule || Inspired Life with Jess

The Cool Yule festival is on until the 13th July, and if you get a chance to head in, I highly recommend going, especially on a Saturday afternoon/evening for the fireworks!

Cool Yule || Inspired Life with Jess

Leave a Reply

