27 Recipes – Squash Fritters

27-Recipes-Squash-Fritters

I decided that I wanted to try a recipe with squash, since it’s not something I’ve ever cooked with. When I saw that it was in season at the moment, I figured now was as good a time as any!

27-Recipes-Squash-Fritters-Ingredients

Ingredients

8 squash
240g ricotta
1 egg
1/3 cup self-raising flour
1/3 cup grated parmesan
2T milk
2T chopped basil
2T olive oil
Baby spinach and rocket leaves
400g can chickpeas
1 avocado
2T olive oil
1T lemon juice

Method

  1. Grate 6 of the squash for the fritters
  2. Mix the ricotta and egg in a large bowl until well combined27-Recipes-Squash-Fritters-1
  3. Stir in the grated squash, flour, parmesan, milk and basil until well combined27-Recipes-Squash-Fritters-2
  4. Heat 1T olive oil in a pan on medium, then cook the squash mixture in 2T batches for about 5 minutes each side, or until golden. Add the remaining olive oil between batches27-Recipes-Squash-Fritters-3
  5. To make the salad, thinly slice the squash, drain and rinse the chickpeas, and chop the avocado, then combine together with the salad leaves. Whisk the remaining 2T olive oil and the lemon juice together for the dressing and season with salt and pepper if desired

My Thoughts

I found the first batch of squash fritters were a little hard to cook since they didn’t flip well, but I used spray oil to start with, and the second batch with normal olive oil worked much better. I would also make the batter a bit thicker with more flour, and would use a different cheese to ricotta next time, since I don’t think it has much taste, and I didn’t mind these, but they didn’t have as much flavour as I was hoping. For the salad, I would use maybe half of the olive oil, since I thought it was quite oily, and would also maybe used cheese, cucumber and tomato in it as well.

Michael’s Thoughts

Michael doesn’t usually like squash, but he actually didn’t mind these at all and even went back for seconds!

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

This is recipe 20 of 27 in my attempt to try 27 new recipes before turning 28 on 19th June, 2014. This project was inspired by my 26 projects challenge from the last year, with a new little twist.

You can see recipe one here, two here, three here, four here, five here, six here, seven here, eight here, nine here, ten here, eleven here, twelve here, thirteen here, fourteen here, fifteen here, sixteen here, seventeen here, eighteen here and nineteen here

Leave a Reply

