Eating Well

One of my challenges for this year is to start eating better. I already eat reasonably well when I am aware of it, but towards the end of last year, I was starting to get into bad habits like buying breakfast and lunch at work most days. This is not only unhealthy, but pretty damn expensive, too!

Creamy-Paprika-Chicken-and-Mushroom-Ingredients

This year I have been cooking at home most nights. When I cook at home, I usually cook 6-8 portions, even though there are only 2 of us. This gives us lots of leftovers to have nights off cooking or to take to work as lunches, which works perfectly for both of us! It has meant that I’ve stopped buying lunches, which is saving me a small fortune!

Sang Choy Bow5

Other changes I’ve made is I’ve cut out soft drink completely (not that I drunk it overly much anyway), I no longer have any sugar in my tea, I’ve cut out a lot of sweet foods like chocolate and biscuits, along with my favourite of hot chips, and I’m trying to eat one piece of fruit a day (I’ve never been good at this!). I still drink around 3 litres of water a day as well, and really feel it if I don’t!

27-Recipes-One-Pot-Pasta-1

Here is some of the basics of what I am eating:

Breakfast – Cereal (not the sugary stuff, usually stuff like oats and muesli), Vegemite toast, toasted ham or turkey and cheese sandwiches, eggs on toast, and occasionally pancakes or banana bread

Lunch – This is usually leftovers, but sometimes I have toasted sandwiches instead

Dinner – We’ve been trying lots of new meals lately (see my 27 recipes posts), and have been finding rice and pasta dishes tend to make the best leftovers. Salmon has now become a favourite, too. I use a lot of vegetables when I cook, and make almost everything from scratch rather than packet mixes. I like knowing what goes into my food!

Moussaka-2

Thing key I’ve found to eating well is planning. When we need to go grocery shopping, I come up with a list of meals to cook over the course of the week (nothing fancy, just an overall idea), and then I see what we need for each. This takes me all of about 10 minutes to do. Then each night, we decide what to make the next night and get whatever we need out of the freezer. I also make sure I get something for lunch out of the freezer and pack breakfast for the morning as well. This only takes about 1-2 minutes tops each night. Very little time, for very big results!

Pork-and-Pear-Bake

This is what is currently working for me and Michael, but I’d love to hear any suggestions you may have in the comments. New healthy recipe ideas are also appreciate!

Leave a Reply

