27 Recipes – Creamy Paprika Chicken and Mushroom

Creamy-Paprika-Chicken-and-Mushroom-Finished

 

I saw a recipe like this online one day when I was looking for ideas for new chicken recipes and it sounded amazing, so I thought I would give it a try, but with my own twist to it. My first time cooking it was one day when we had Michael’s best mate around, and he seemed to be a fan, so I guess it worked alright! This didn’t take too long to make, and it made about 8 portions all up.

Creamy-Paprika-Chicken-and-Mushroom-Ingredients

Ingredients

1T olive oil
1 brown onion
400g mushrooms
2 cloves garlic
4t paprika
1/2 cup cold water
500g chicken thigh fillets
2 cups thickened cream
200g spinach leaves
500g pasta

Method

  1. Chop the onion and crush the garlic. Cut the mushrooms into quarters and chop the chicken into slices
  2. Heat the oil in a fry pan over medium. Cook the onion and garlic until softened
  3. Add the chicken and stir until browned on the outside, then add the mushrooms for a further 5 minutes
  4. Add the paprika and stir through for about 1 minute, then add the cream and cold water
  5. Bring to the boil, and then reduce heat to simmer for 5 minutes or so, until the chicken is cooked through
  6. Meanwhile, cook the pasta in boiling water
  7. Stir the spinach through the chicken mix before serving, and serve on top of pasta

Creamy-Paprika-Chicken-and-Mushroom

My Thoughts

This was good, but not as good as it originally sounded. I loved the spinach in it (spinach goes well with most pasta for me!), but the paprika was a bit stronger than I was hoping. next time, I think I would try it with about 3 teaspoons instead. I thought it felt surprisingly light for a creamy pasta dish, though.

Michael’s Thoughts

Michael thought this was ok, but that we have better creamy pasta options that we both like more.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

This is recipe 17 of 27 in my attempt to try 27 new recipes before turning 28 on 19th June, 2014. This project was inspired by my 26 projects challenge from the last year, with a new little twist.

You can see recipe one here, two here, three here, four here, five here, six here, seven here, eight here, nine here, ten here, eleven here, twelve here, thirteen here, fourteen here, fifteen here and sixteen here

Leave a Reply

