27 Recipes – Salmon en Papillote

27-Recipes-Salmon-en-Papillote

I’ve never been a big fish eater, but Michael’s Mum makes amazing salmon, and I’ve been wanting to try cooking salmon myself for a while now. I’ve never cooked salmon before, so I decided that I would try en papillote style, which is basically baking it in a pouch made from baking paper or aluminium foil, so that it steams itself. This serves 2.

27-Recipes-Salmon-en-Papillote-Ingredients

Ingredients

2 x 200g salmon fillets
1T dill
1 lemon
2T lemon juice
1T baby capers
Salad to serve

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 200°C or 180°C fan-forced
  2. Place each piece of salmon on its own piece of baking paper about 30cm in size
  3. Slice the lemon, and top the salmon with the dill, lemon, capers and lemon juice27-Recipes-Salmon-en-Papillote-Ingredients
  4. Fold the baking paper to enclose the salmon so that it is well sealed in and place the parcels on a baking tray
  5. Bake for 12 minutes, until the salmon is just cooked through27-Recipes-Salmon-en-Papillote-3
  6. Serve with a side salad

 

My Thoughts

This was my first time ever cooking salmon and I’ve never tried capers before either. I was pleasantly surprised how well this turned out! I liked it with a little extra lemon juice squeezed on top.

Michael’s Thoughts

He was surprised that it turned out so well. He even said he liked it better than when he fries it, or his Mum bakes it, and wants me to cook it a lot more!

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

This is recipe 15 of 27 in my attempt to try 27 new recipes before turning 28 on 19th June, 2014. This project was inspired by my 26 projects challenge from the last year, with a new little twist.

You can see recipe one here, two here, three here, four here, five here, six here, seven here, eight here, nine here, ten here, eleven here, twelve here, thirteen here and fourteen here

Leave a Reply

