One Little Word 2014 || Balance

My 2013 One Little Word, Choose, served me well over the 365 days that made up 2013. It came into my life for many reasons, and while it could be a struggle at times, the biggest result from the year was realizing just how important it was to choose my reaction to things. This word is now a part of me, and will continue on in my life always.

One-Little-Word-Balance

As 2013 was coming to a close, I started thinking about what word could serve me well throughout 2014. Nothing came to mind. Then mid-December, my word found me. Balance. I have no idea where it came from, it just popped into my head on morning as I was walking to work, and never left. The more I thought about it, the more it fitted with what I was after for the year ahead.

Balance has a lot of different definitions, from evenly distributing weight to enable something to stay upright and steady, having different elements in correct proportions, putting something in a steady position so it does not fall, offsetting one value with another and much more.

To me, this word relates to achieving balance in many areas of my life, something I have struggled with for a very long time. Balancing work and home, time to myself and time with others, balancing food and fitness, spending and saving, chores and hobbies. I have too many competing goals, drawing me in different directions, and balance requires focusing on each one to bring them into harmony together, along with removing unnecessary distractions to free up time for the things that are the most important to me.

I have plenty of questions about what balance will mean for me. I’m sure it will be completely different to what it means for anyone else, but this does not mean that I can not learn from others. I need to work out what areas of my life feel balanced, and what areas need improvement, and this is the year that I will really start to focus on these. For me to be my best self physically, mentally, creatively and in my relationships, I need to have balance.

Welcome, 2014 and Balance. I’m sure you will both bring many amazing adventures!

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

If you don’t know what One Little Word is, you can read more about it in this post from Ali Edwards. I will be undertaking Ali’s One Little Word class again this year, and creating an album about my word and the changes it’s manifesting in my life.

Leave a Reply

