OLW Update 2

Over the last few days, I’ve been working on updating my One Little Word album (part one is here). I have found that working on my album in batches of a few months at a time seems to work pretty well so far… I like being able to sit down and work on my album for longer stretches of time, rather than doing the prompts one at a time.

Today I’m here to share the next 4 months of my album, from May until August. I’m still sticking with my yellow and pink colour scheme, and following Ali’s monthly prompts, but adjusting them to make them work for me.

May

May’s prompt was all about listening to the little and big messages you keep hearing surrounding your word and your intentions. I found after reading this lesson, some of Ali’s ideas fitted well with my word, some didn’t, so I used a mix of her ideas and some of my own. The ones from Ali were printed out, the ones from me were doodled, coloured with copics and edged with washi tape.

June

June was the mid way point of this project, and it was a printable that was all about your reflections on your word. Things like what has surprised you, what are you proud of, challenges and things you hope to accomplish by the end of the year. It was a great way to reflect on your word and progress so far, while still thinking about how you can implement your word going forward. While I didn’t answer these in order, I had a lot of fun with this prompt.

July

July was all about using post it notes around the place with your word on them, so that when you see them, you can connect with your word. I’m not a fan of post its though, at least not when I have so much fun crafty stash to use! I decided to come up with 6 ways my word was with me throughout the month (since this was how many cards I could fit on a page), and stamped my word at the top of some 3×4 project life grid journalling cards, then added my journalling below. I’m not too good at sticking with daily projects for such a long stretch of time, so this worked well for me, and felt like I was really able to celebrate each idea. This is actually my favourite page in my album so far!

Choose-Light-Painting

August’s was all about taking your word into the world, by writing or creating it and taking a photo. I had a few different ideas for this one, but the one I really decided I’d enjoy the most was actually after doing the night photography class earlier this month, and that was to paint my word with light. We had a lot of fun writing different words and phrases, and this was something different, so I went with it. I’m going to print this page as 81/2 x 11, and I may add some journalling to it, but I’m not 100% sure if I will or not yet.

That sums up part 2 of my album now, and I’ll have the 3rd and final update in either December or January, once the class finishes up and my album is completed.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

My One Little Word for the year is Choose. Each month this year, I’m making a list of things I choose to do throughout the month. These will generally be fun things to prioritize, rather than a set to do list. You can see my “Choose” posts here. I have also made some “Choose” anklets, as a way to keep my word close to me each day, and you can see these here.

If you don’t know what One Little Word is, you can read more about it in this post from Ali Edwards. I will be undertaking Ali’s One Little Word class again this year, and creating an album about my word and the changes it’s manifesting in my life.

Leave a Reply

