A Beautiful Mess Photo Idea Book

A Beautiful Mess Photo Idea BookI’ve been hooked on the blog, A Beautiful Mess, for quite a while now. The writers, sisters Elsie and Emma, come up with so many fun projects and great recipes, and always have such awesome photos. When I saw them announce that they were release a photo idea book, I had to get in and preorder it right away!

I had to wait quite a while for my preorder to arrive, since it shipped from the US. When it finally got here, I had to wait even longer to be able to pick it up from Mum’s and even when I finally had it in my hands, I didn’t have time to open it for about 2 weeks… So lame! It was so nice to have some time to sit down over the weekend and finally start looking through it!

Here is the books official description:

Whether it’s of your sister’s smile, your morning coffee, or your new puppy, photos are a way to connect on Facebook and Instagram, keep a visual diary of our lives, and create momentos for future generations. Elsie Larson and Emma Chapman, creators of the mega-popular DIY style blog A Beautiful Mess, are in love with photographing everyday life. Here, they share that love with 95 all-new tips and photo challenges that will inspire you to style and snap better photos and then transform them into simple yet stunning projects and gifts. You’ll learn how to:

   • Take the most flattering self-portraits 
• Be your own stylist to turn dull, cluttered photos into pretty lifestyle photography
• Capture adorable couple portraits
• Turn everyday moments, hobbies, and rituals into amazing photos
• Show off your favorite photos by turning them into handmade jewelry, home décor, and gifts

Packed with Elsie and Emma’s happy spirit and unique style, A Beautiful Mess Photo Idea Book will inspire you to capture your days, your friends, and your dreams in beautiful photos!

From what I have seen so far, the book had done all this and so much more! This book is in no way about the technical aspect of photography. Instead, it goes through a whole lot of creative ideas to try out and challenge yourself. The book would be fun for photographers of any level, using any type of camera, from a phone right up to an SLR. There is something for everyone here, and even a pro photographer would likely walk away with a whole bunch of new ideas to try!

I now have a whole list of ideas I want to try, and even brought myself a little notebook to keep with my DSLR as my own photo idea book! Some of my favourites include getting awesome couple and family photos, using props and backgrounds for photos, playing with light in different ways, photographing motion and photographing in macro, making custom filters, photographing everyday life, ideas for self portraits, plenty of photography challenges, and of course, ideas on how to display photos (I’m so looking forward to using some of these ideas once we get into the new place and I can have more on display!).

My first challenge that I’m going to try from this book is working on self portraits. I’m going to reread this section of the book again over the next few days, and then I’ll start the 30 day self-portrait challenge. I’m even going to make it more interesting and aim to take most of the photos on my DSLR, since I’ve been getting in as much practice as I can!

This book is one of the best books I’ve read lately, especially since I love taking beautiful and creative photos of everyday life. Even my sister loves the book just from flipping through it for half an hour or so! With is well worth the dollars spent, that’s for sure!

 

Leave a Reply

