Summing up Week in the Life

I have to say that I’m quite happy that I’ve completed the photo taking and journalling parts of Week in the Life again this year. While Week in the Life makes for a very intense week of recording everyday life, it’s so awesome to be able to look back over it and see the details of a whole week together like this!

WITL Monday 17

This week was anything but a typical week for me. I went to 2 photography classes and went out for some night photography experiments, went segwaying for the first time ever, went to a Light the Night event, worked on getting 10,000 steps in each day for Steptember, and was working on Shimelle’s Learn Something New Every Day class. It was a busy one, to say the least! I kind of wish this project fell on a more normal week for me, but at the same time, I’m happy to have this week recorded in so much detail.

WITL Tuesday 3

Projects like this are always fun to complete. I find that they make me very aware of my routines and how I am spending my time. I think it’s great to look back on details like what I do for work, how I’ve spent my free time, foods I eat, what I’m grateful for at that particular point of time, favourite things, etc, as this is stuff that is always changing.

WITL Saturday 19

This year I struggled to stick with the daily sheets… I was only successful using them on Monday. Since I was blogging my days each night anyway, I didn’t mind this too much. I know the flow of each day and can also get times for my photos, so overall, it didn’t matter to me that I didn’t write this all down throughout the day. Because I blogged everything, I have the added advantage that I can just copy and paste my text from here to make my pages, since I’ll be making them in Photoshop.

WITL Wednesday 9

I’m glad I took the time at the start of this project to come up with a list of photo and journalling ideas though. It made things so much easier overall, as I had an idea of what I wanted to record throughout the week. I missed some of these ideas, but they’re still things I can use in my Project Life going forward, as well. I may also go back and include a few filler photos for the week if I feel like anything super important has been missed and is needed to add to the story. This is unlikely to happen, but I like that I have the option if I want to.

WITL Friday 19

Something I didn’t do too well at was getting myself in the photos throughout the week. I feel awkward being in self portraits and this is something I really need to work on. I have the self timer I can use, but I also have a remote for my big camera, so I need to try to make this more of a habit. I also need to pester Michael to take photos of me doing stuff, like knitting or other crafty projects when he’s around, and get him in some couples pictures as well. I do pretty well at taking photos of everyday stuff though, since I do it so often for Project Life anyway.

WITL Friday 14

My plan going forward is to assemble my Week in the Life pages digitally. I will be making these as 8 1/2 x 11 pages, using Ali’s 2010 Week in the Life templates, since they were the ones I was most inspired by recently, and then I will be printing them through Persnickity Prints. I will be including the journalling on 6×11 journalling pages. My intention is to have an introduction page for each day with an enlarged photo (8 1/2 x 11), then the double-sided journalling section (6×11), and then a photo collage for the closing page for each day (8 1/2 x 11). I’m not sure what I want to do for the opening page or closing page yet, but I’m sure I’ll come up with something. I’m hoping to have these pages finished next month, so that I can share them here, and I need to buy a new album for this project as well.

WITL Sunday 18

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

You can view all of my Week in the Life posts here. I have shared some tips and ideas here, as well.

Leave a Reply

