27 Recipes – Hummus and Tabbouleh

We’ve been going to a Middle Eastern restaurant near us a fair bit lately, and I decided that I’d give my favourites of hummus and tabbouleh a try for the first time at home. I’m hooked on these 2 together on Lebanese bread, and they also get quite well on the bread with BBQ chicken.

Both

Ingredients – Hummus

600g Chickpeas
3t Garlic
100ml Olive Oil
2T Tahini Paste
1t ground Cumin
Juice of 1 Lemon
1/4 cup Water
Paprika to garnish

Ingredients – Tabbouleh

150g Couscous
3T Olive Oil
150ml boiling Water
2 bunches Parsley
1 bunch Mint
4 Tomatoes
4 Shallots
Juice of 2 Lemons
2t Garlic

Method – Hummus

HummusPlace everything but the water and paprika in a food processor and process until combined. A blender will also work. Once combined, add the water and process until smooth. Serve in a bowl garnished with paprika

Method – Tabbouleh

Tabbouleh

  1. Place the couscous in a bowl with 1T of the oil and pour over the boiling water. Stand for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally with a fork
  2. Finely chop the parsley, mint and shallots, and deseed the tomato and dice
  3. Make the dressing by mixing the lemon juice, garlic, and olive oil in a bowl
  4. Toss the herbs, tomato and couscous together, and mix in the dressing when ready to serve

My Thoughts

I liked how the tabbouleh turned out, although next time I would use a little less couscous. The hummus wasn’t quite right though, and I can’t really pick what was wrong with it, but I have been given another recipe to try for this off a work friend who’s Lebanese, so it should be much better. I used canned chickpeas, but next time I will buy the fresh ones, and soak and cook them myself.

Michael’s Thoughts

Michael thought the hummus was better with salt, but I didn’t want to use it. He enjoyed the tabbouleh as well though, but thought it needed slightly more lemon, which I kind of agree with.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

This is recipe 8 of 27 in my attempt to try 27 new recipes before turning 28 on 19th June, 2014. This project was inspired by my 26 projects challenge from the last year, with a new little twist.

You can see recipe one here, two here, three here, four here, five here, six here and seven here

Leave a Reply

