OLW Album Beginnings

This weekend, I’ve spent some time working on my One Little Word album. While I’ve been doing reasonably well bringing my word into my life, the album side of things has well fallen to the wayside, but I’ve decided that I’m going to start sharing the pages that I complete, 4 months of prompts at a time.

My pages are going to go in the same album as my OLW project from last year. It’s a black cloth bound 8 1/2×11 album from American Crafts. This was originally purchased as a week in the life album, but alas, I do not do too well keeping up with that project any of the years I’ve attempted it, so OLW is replacing it for now. To distinguish between the 2 years of prompts, I’ve used a green and grey colour scheme for 2012, and pink and yellow for 2013 as something a little different.

While I am sticking to Ali’s prompts as a guideline for each months layouts, I am adding extra pages and bits of information as I feel it fits, and adjusting the prompts work for me. This is a very personal project, and it feels right to make it my own. Instead of jumping straight into the prompts, I actually made a title page for the album.

OLW-Album-pg1

January’s prompt was about coming up with 12 intentions relating to your word, one to work on each month of the year. I decided I didn’t want to assign mine to particular months. These were supposed to be in a 9-slot basketball card protector, but I ended up spreading them over 2 pages, with the title page in front, and a filler page behind them. My intentions for the year were organisation, relaxation, decorating, adventure, healthy eating, saving, learning, crafting, movement, recording life, joy and relationships. I had fun decorating the filler cards, too.

OLW-Album-pg2

February’s prompt was to make a vision board. We were supposed to go through magazines for this, but we also had to make them at work, and I used images I got from the net, and dressed them up a little to match the rest of my project. Since that page is so busy, I left the filler page opposite, except for the quote

“Keep your dreams alive. Understand to achieve anything requires faith and belief in yourself, vision, hard work, determination and dedication. Remember all things are possible for those who believe.”

– Gail Devers

OLW-Album-pg3

March had a take action printable to fill in, with a calendar, a section to record my goal for the month, and a section for documenting the experience. This was the month where I worked on my craft room clean out and organisation project. I still have to fill in the calendar section on here, but I’m not sure that I will do much with it, since I pretty much spent 15 minutes a day working on cleaning out the craft room, so it would be the same each day. I had fun decorating the page as well, with some of my favourite washi tapes, and some wood veneer shapes and patterned paper.

OLW-Album-pg4

April was a month of photo prompts in another basketball card protector. While Ali added text to her photos, I’m not sure that I will for mine, I kind of like them as they are. I narrowed my photos down to 9 of my biggest choose items for so far this year (yes, some of them are photos from after April, but I have only recently printed these out, so I’m still counting it!). They include some of my favourite projects so far this year, travel and adventure, my focus on relationships (with Michael and my family) and my focus on movement with the Color Run.

OLW-Album-Filler

Lastly, I have also included a 6×12 page protector, cut down to 6×11 that outlines why I chose my word for the year, definitions and synonyms, which was a prompt from last year’s class that was missed this year. I thought it was better to include some details about the why’s of this project, and I’m glad I made this. To shorten the page protector, I trimmed the top and bottom, and stitched across the bottom. I’m unsure where this will fall in the album… My intention was for it to go in the middle of January, but now that I’ve completed the January prompt, I’m not sure I like it being broken up with this, so maybe right at the start. I still have plenty of months to decide though, so I’ll leave it with January for now.

So that about sums it up for now. The next post I share about my album will be from May until August, and will likely be sometime next month.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

My One Little Word for the year is Choose. Each month this year, I’m making a list of things I choose to do throughout the month. These will generally be fun things to prioritize, rather than a set to do list. You can see my “Choose” posts here. I have also made some “Choose” anklets, as a way to keep my word close to me each day, and you can see these here.

If you don’t know what One Little Word is, you can read more about it in this post from Ali Edwards. I will be undertaking Ali’s One Little Word class again this year, and creating an album about my word and the changes it’s manifesting in my life.

Leave a Reply

