27 Recipes – Slow Cooker Savoury Mince

Slow Cooker Savoury Mince

I spent about half this month craving savoury mince on toast, so when I was searching for mince slow cooker meal ideas, I figured why not give this a try? It’s been years since I’ve had it, back when I used to live at home and Mum used to cook it!

Ingredients

1kg mince
An onion
1T Worcestershire sauce
2 carrots
1/2 cup pasta sauce
2t garlic
3/4 cup water
1/4t black pepper
1/2t paprika
3T tomato sauce
2ts brown sugar
1t mustard
2 cups mushrooms

Method

  1. Chop onion and carrot, and crush the garlic if you’re not already using crushed garlic
  2. Break up the mince and put it in the slow cooker. No, I don’t bother cooking it first, it cooks fine in the slow cooker alone
  3. Add everything else except the mushrooms
  4. Cover and cook on low for 6 hours
  5. Add mushrooms in the last half hour
  6. Thicken with corn flour at the end if needed
  7. Serve with mashed potato, rice, pasta or on toast

This only takes about 10-15 minutes to throw together and I usually prep slow cooker meals the night before and store in the fridge overnight, then pop it in the slow cooker before I head to work the next day. I have a timer for mine that you plug into the power point and it will turn on at whatever time you set it to, then I turn it off when it’s ready when I get home.

Variations

You can use pretty much any veggies in this. I’ve had it with cubes of potato in it, peas, corn and celery before. This time, I just used what I had on hand, although usually I’ll add lots of veggies to it. You can also substitute in lots of different sauces, too. I’ve had sweet chilli variations, where you add sweet chilli sauce instead of the paprika, mustard, brown sugar and tomato sauce, and it also worked well!

My Thoughts

This really hit the spot for dinner! I had it with Helgas 5 pumpkin seed toasted bread, and the crunch of the pumpkin seeds with the meat was awesome! I also had leftover meat with pasta and a little cheese, and it was quite amazing as well! Although it doesn’t look like a pretty meal, it’s definitely flavour packed!

Michael’s Thoughts

Michael didn’t want to try this with toast, but he had it with pasta and he said it was fantastic and made great leftovers. Especially good with a little cheese

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

This is recipe 4 of 27 in my attempt to try 27 new recipes before turning 28 on 19th June, 2014. This project was inspired by my 26 projects challenge from the last year, with a new little twist.

You can see recipe one here, two here and three here

Leave a Reply

