27 Recipes – Spicy Chicken Quesadillas

4

We had some leftover roast chicken in the fridge that needed to be used and I decided I’d try something new with it. Both me and Michael are hooked on Mexican food at the moment, so I decided I’d try making chicken enchiladas with it.

Ingredients

Ingredients

Wholemeal tortillas
Chicken (I used somewhere between 1/4 and 1/2 a roast chicken)
Cheese
1/2-1 teaspoon chilli powder, depending on how spicy you like it
Spray cooking oil

Optional

1/2 onion
1/4 capsicum
Handful of mushrooms
1/2 teaspoon garlic
Sour cream, guacamole and salsa to serve

Method

  1. Dice the chicken, capsicum, onion and mushrooms, and grate the cheese
  2. In a pot with a little butter or oil, cook the capsicum, onion, garlic and mushrooms for a couple of minutes until the onion is slightly translucent
  3. Add the chicken and chilli powder and heat through thoroughly
  4. In a fry pan, heat some spray oil, then place the tortilla in and layer some cheese on one half, some of the chicken mixture, and some more cheese, then fold in half12
  5. Cook for about 2-3 minutes, then flip onto the other half, and cook for the same amount of time3
  6. Once cooked, cut into quarters. Serve with sour cream, guacamole and salsa (we didn’t have guacamole or salsa this time, so we just used sour cream this time)

5

My Thoughts

When I tried the chicken with 1 teaspoon of chilli powder, I thought it was too spicy, but once it was balanced out with cheese, sour cream and the tortilla, it was fine! Next time I’ll be adding some homemade guacamole and salsa though, because I missed having them since its how I most like my quesadillas. I can’t believe I’ve never made these before when they were so easy to do!

Michael’s Thoughts

“The quesadilla’s were amazing, definitely one worth repeating! The chilli was muted by a slight bit of sour cream on each slice. We have to do that one again!”

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

This is recipe 3 of 27 in my attempt to try 27 new recipes before turning 28 on 19th June, 2014. This project was inspired by my 26 projects challenge from the last year, with a new little twist.

You can see recipe one here and two here

Leave a Reply

