27 Recipes – Roast Chicken and Vegetables

Served 1

My first recipe for my 27 recipes goal is roast chicken and vegetables. I’ve never really cooked a decent roast before, only a fairly failed attempt years ago, so I decided that I’d give it another attempt, since we couldn’t get a pre cooked BBQ chicken from Aldi when we went there.

Ingredients

Ingredients

Roast chicken (we used pre seasoned with Dijon mustard and garlic)
Potatoes
Carrot
Beans
Mushrooms
Capsicum
Onion
Gravy powder
Olive oil spray

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 160 degrees fan forced. While heating, get the chicken ready by spraying an oven tray with oil, putting the chicken in, and covering with aluminium foil sprayed with oil. Once the oven is heated, pop the chicken in
  2. Once the chicken has been cooking for about half an hour, peel the potatoes and chop them in half. Put them in a pot and cover with water, and bring to the boil. Once boiled, turn off and leave them in the water until slightly softened. I left them for about 45 minutes, and they were a little too mushy. Next time, I’d leave them for about 30 minutesPotato
  3. Drain the potatoes, spray an oven tray with oil, put the potatoes in and spray lightly with oil so they crisp. Place in the oven, and turn occasionally, for about 45 minutes
  4. Peel and chop the carrot into pieces. For me, I cut them in half, then sliced lengthways into about 6 pieces. Place the carrot and the beans in water, boil and then place on low to cook fully
  5. While everything is cooking prepare the gravy by chopping the onion, capsicum and mushrooms. Saute the vegetables, then prepare the gravy mix following the directions, and mix it all together and heat itVeggies
  6. I cooked the chicken for about 2 1/2 hours, because when I checked it originally, it was still pink inside. This was a little dry, so I would cook it for a little less next time. This will vary based on the size of the chicken though. To check if it’s cooked, slice between the leg and the body of the chicken and the juices should run clearChicken
  7. To serve, slice into the chicken breast and pull the legs off. Drain the carrot and beans and serve everything up with gravy

Served

My Thoughts

Next time, I will cook the chicken for a little less, since it was a bit dry, and I’d make the gravy from the pan juices rather than a gravy mix. I’d also include roast pumpkin and sweet potato as well. For the leftover chicken, I pulled it all off the bones and have used it on sandwiches and BBQ chicken pizza, both of which work great. I’ll definitely be trying this one again though!

Michael’s Thoughts

Michael agreed the chicken was a bit overdone, and he didn’t like the gravy (but he’s never been a fan of the powdered gravy mixes). He thinks roast carrot would be better rather than boiled with beans, and to add roast sweet potato as well. He really liked how the potatoes turned out though.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

This is recipe 1 of 27 in my attempt to try 27 new recipes before turning 28 on 19th June, 2014. This project was inspired by my 26 projects challenge from the last year, with a new little twist

Leave a Reply

