26 Projects – Knitted Blanket

6

Although I haven’t quite finished this yet (as in I’m only about half way though!) I’m still counting my knitted blanket as one of my 26 projects! This blanket has taken me a long time to knit… I only really taught myself to knit about 8 months ago, and this is my first real project (except for another blanket I’ve started also). Clearly, I enjoy taking on ambitious projects! I’m still rather slow at knitting , so it’s taking me a long time to finish. Then again, starting out making blankets when you’re first learning to knit may not necessarily be the best idea. LOL

1

When I was planning this blanket, I decided I’d go with black and white stripes. I knew I wanted it to be big, and I didn’t want to have to attach pieces together afterwards, so I decided I’d try out circular needles. These have been interesting to use, especially as the blanket grows in length! The first few rows were easy to do, but the longer it gets, the harder it is to knit since you have to keep adjusting the blanket. I’m kind of used to it now though.

5

I cast on 160 stitches in black, and knitted 7 rows until I ran out of the first ball of wool. I then changed to white, and have worked through the blanket by completing 6 rows in each colour, before changing back to the opposite colour. It works pretty well, and the remaining scraps of wool will be used to make a matching cushion next.

2

The plan is to use about 60-80 balls of wool for this. At the moment, I’ve knitted 32 and a half rows, and it’s around a metre long, by about 170 cms wide. The wool I’m using is a thick lumpy one by Moda Vera, called Caterpillar, that you can get from Spotlight. It’s so soft and fluffy, and because it’s so thick, it keeps you nice and warm as you knit!

3

I’ll share a follow-up post here once I finish making this with any further thoughts that I have!

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

This is project 20 of 26 in my attempt to make 26 crafty projects before turning 27 on 19th June, 2013. The 26 projects idea was inspired by Elise Blaha

See project 123456789101112131415161718 & 19 or all projects on Pinterest

6 thoughts on “26 Projects – Knitted Blanket

    • Yeah, it was! But I’m actually enjoying it so far, which is funny since I used to hate knitting when I tried it as a kid! I don’t wear scarfs, so I didn’t want to spend the time making one when I could do a project I’d enjoy more in the end.

    • Thank you, Chantelle! 🙂 It’s not all that hard to do the basic knit stitch (that is all I use for this)… I found some simple instructions online with a quick google search. It’s so relaxing, too!

Leave a Reply

