Homemade Hamburgers

One of my favourite meals ever is a good hamburger. There are very few places around where we live that do good burgers. By very few, I mean zero, zip, zilch! Mum always made amazing burgers though, and thankfully, she taught me how to make them many years ago, so when I get a hankering for a good burger, we make them at home.

Ingredients

Ingredients:

  • Mince – I use about 125g per burger
  • Hamburger buns (my favourites are Coles branded ones… I don’t like sesame seeds much)
  • Half an onion between 2 burgers
  • Lettuce, or in my case, baby spinach. Any type is ok
  • Tomato
  • Beetroot (this is one of the best parts!)
  • Cheese
  • BBQ Sauce

Optional: Bacon, egg, pineapple

11. Spray the fry pan with oil, or drizzle a little in. Flatten the mince patties as flat as you can. I do this with an egg flip, and tongs to push it really flat. They’ll shrink a fair bit and thicken up, so there’s really no such thing as too flat!

2

2. Chop the onion. I cut it in half, then slice it… It works out a pretty good size, but onion rings also work well.

33. Once you flip the mince, add the bacon and onion to the pan, and cook, flipping the bacon occasionally, and turning the onion.

44. Once the bacon is done to your liking, stack it onto the mince so it’s frees up a little room, then cook the eggs. I happen to like the yolks slightly runny, so I don’t flip them, but again, this is optional. If you like pineapple on your burger, this is the time you’d pop it on too.

55. Just before the eggs are done, put the cheese on top of the bacon, so that it melts slightly, just because it tastes good!

76. A couple of minutes before the mince and egg is ready, cut the hamburger buns in half and toast under the grill until golden. Once done, put sauce on the top half of the bun, and lettuce, tomato and beetroot on the bottom.

7. To assemble the full burger, stack the egg on top of the mince, bacon, cheese stack, then layer some onion and transfer the whole lot to the prepared burger bun. The easiest way to do this is with an egg flip under the lot, then use tongs to slide the whole stack onto the burger.

88. Close the lid, squish it down a little and enjoy!!! Even Michael approves! Michael’s favourite burgers are without bacon and egg, while I like mine with the bacon and egg. I don’t hugely rate pineapple on hamburgers personally, however I do love it on chicken burgers! Either way, we’re both hooked!

9

4 thoughts on “Homemade Hamburgers

  1. Homemade burgers are the best! The only other place I have burger from is from a 1950s style burger place in Warrnambool which is 3 and 1/2 hour drive out of Melbourne not very practical! Next time I will have to give your burgers a try!

    • They really are! That burger place must be damn good to travel that far for a burger! If I’ve ever near there, I’ll have to go there! Not that I’ve ever hear of the place though!

Leave a Reply

