26 Projects – Washi Tape Hanger

Over the last year or so, I have gotten to have quite a good stash of washi tape. I keep finding them at a local store here, called Typo, along with a few orders from Freckled Fawn. These used to be just piled up on my desk, but they kept being knocked over and were getting to be rather annoying, so I decided I needed to come up with a new way of storing them.

2 hangers

I decided that I wanted to make use of an old curtain rod that I had lying around, and once I come up with the idea, I only needed a few supplies… A saw to cut the curtain rod into suitable sized pieces, some end caps for the curtain rod pieces and some big screw in hooks that fit the curtain rod. Oh, and a free spot on the side of my makeshift desk hutch to screw these in place.

Tools

This was one of the easiest projects I’ve made so far… All I needed to do was cut the curtain rod into 4 pieces, screw the hooks into place on the desk, put one of the curtain rod ends on, thread the washi tape in place, put the other end on and rest on the screws… Easy peasy!

How it works

As my washi tape collection grows, all I need to do is take off and end and thread more on. The good thing about these ends, is that they are easy to pull on and off with no issues.

In progess

In total, I actually have 3 of these in place. I didn’t grab enough of the largest hooks to do hang them all first go, as I didn’t realise quite how much tape I had, so I grabbed a couple more today. I have everything there to hang another one as well, for when my collection grows even more.

1 hanger

Love how this turned out though, and it frees up more table space, as well as keeping my supplied in reach and easy to see when I’m after something specific.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

This is project 17 of 26 in my attempt to make 26 crafty projects before turning 27 on 19th June, 2013. The 26 projects idea was inspired by Elise Blaha

See project 123456789101112131415 & 16 or all projects on Pinterest

2 thoughts on “26 Projects – Washi Tape Hanger

    • Thank you, Diana! I hope you are enjoying the class so far, I’ve loved the first week so far, especially since I love Maggie’s bright colourful photos! I enjoyed looking at your portfolio on your site too… You have some truly amazing photos!

Leave a Reply

