One Little Word – March – Craft Room Organisation

This year I am undertaking Ali Edward’s One Little Word class for the second year running. This class has had the prompts updated from last year, and I am loving the changes.

The March prompt for the class was to choose an action step and spend the month completing it. I decided this month that I would tackle my craft room once and for all! My craft room is a little room off the main living area in our apartment. It has great light, but it is a little small, and extremely unorganised! Aside from being my craft room, it is also a storage room for things such as Christmas decorations and my shot glass collection. One of the boxes in here had never even been unpacked since moving in here 2 1/2 years ago!

Before Pictures*

One

TwoThreeFourFive

Over the course of this month, I have spent at least 15 minutes in here each day. While it may not seem like much time, it has certainly added up! I pulled everything of each of my bookshelves and out of every draw and reorganised it all. I have gotten rid of about 2 crates of recycling, and about a garbage bag of rubbish, and I have an overflowing crate of items to be donated, which will be happening once I finish up the last few spaces. I’m back to being able to see the top of my desk again, and have spare room in each of my draws! The change has been amazing!

I still need to go through all of the books and folders on the top shelf of the desk, refresh my inspiration boards, and also go through underneath the desk. I also moved out a few bits and pieces, such as all of my scrapbooking albums, my stamps and my washi tape, and a few works in progress, which are in the lounge room at the moment. These will need to move back into their spots once I finish clearing out the last bits and pieces, but I’ve found it much easier to work on the room while not having anything in there. The rest of this room will be done by the end of next weekend, I reckon!

After Pictures (the first after pic has the donation pile to the right, it’s not going to be there much longer!)

Six

SevenEightNine

The stuff to donate

The stuff to donate

All up, this project has cost me only $22 so far. That was to buy 2 boxes for memorabilia, and 2 open baskets to put on my desk shelves. I can’t complain about that at all, when the room is so much more functional and I enjoy it so much more! I may end up tweaking some of the storage bits over the next couple of months as I start using the room again, but for now, it’s going well!

*NOTE: I forgot to take true before pictures. This room was a lot worse before I started… By the time I had gotten around to taking these photos, I’d already cleared off both bookshelves and 3 huge piles of things off the desk, along with moving out all of my albums. Like I said, this room became quite messy from being the main storage area in the house!

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

If you don’t know what One Little Word is, you can read more about it in this post from Ali Edwards. I will be undertaking Ali’s One Little Word class again this year, and creating an album about my word and the changes it’s manifesting in my life. You can see all of my posts about One Little Word here.

Leave a Reply

