Sunrise Breakfast Date

About 2 weeks ago, I read somewhere that someone mentioned since they were on the east coast of the US for a trip, that they needed to see a sunrise over a beach. I can’t remember where I read it, because I didn’t think much of it at the time. It ended up getting me thinking though… I live on the east coast of Australia, yet it’s very rare I see a sunrise, and especially not at the beach. A few days ago, I decided that I would change that, and make an effort to see one.

Sunrise

Sunrise2

Sunrise3This morning, me and Michael headed out to one of the beaches in Narrabeen, which is a beach suburb in Northern Sydney. I had looked up the sunrise time last night before bed, and we worked out the sun was supposed to rise at 7.01am, so we got up at 5.30am, packed some hot Milo and banana coconut muffins, and headed out. It took us almost an hour to get there, but it was a nice quiet drive.

Sunrise4

Sunrise5

I’ve never been to Narrabeen beach. I’m amazed at how shallow the beach was… The water seemed so close to the path, maybe only about 7 metres from where we walked to the water. Where I grew up on the Central Coast, the beaches are usually twice that depth! The sand was also a lot more red coloured than I expected, but that may have been from all the extra moisture since it was still so dark when we got there.

Sunrise6

Sunrise7

Sunrise8

We set up a picnic blanket on the beach, and relaxed while waiting for the sun to come up. There was a bit too much cloud to get much of a sunrise, or at least the cloud was a bit too heavy, but the glimpses we did get were so worth it! It was awesome to see the birds coming to life, as well.

Sunrise9

Sunrise10

It was quiet at the beach, we had it all to ourselves for the first half hour or so, and even after that, there were only 3 people running past, and 2 guys coming in for a swim just as we started packing up. We sat around watching and relaxing until about 8.30am, when we decided we’d go and get a real breakfast!

Sunrise11

Sunrise12

Sunrise13

We headed to a cafe across the road from the beach called the Driftwood cafe. I quite liked it there… It was a beachy theme throughout the decor, with lots of inspirational quotes everywhere. Such a cheerful, happy place! And I loved the food, too! I had a BLT, and it was damn good! Michael had a ham cheese and tomato croissant with a passion-fruit smoothie, and he enjoyed it too.

Sunrise14

Sunrise15

Such an awesome start to the morning, even if the sunrise wasn’t the greatest. I so plan on doing this again very soon! Only next time, I might check weather forecasts for clouds.

Anyone have any advice on good Sydney beaches to go to for a sunrise, or how to tell if it’s likely to be a good sunrise?

2 thoughts on “Sunrise Breakfast Date

Leave a Reply

