26 Projects – One Little Word Anklets

Anklets

 

Seeing as it’s rained all day and we’ve been cooped up inside, I decided to spend some time getting reacquainted with my beading supplies to make an anklet for my One Little Word for the year. Supplies

For this project, I had all of the supplies I needed on hand except for letter beads. Well I had some letter beads, but was missing a C and a H, which is kind of an important part of my word “Choose”! I searched for a couple of weeks to get the letter beads with no success, but ended up lucking out one day last week and getting the very last packet at Riot Craft.

Anklet

I started out making the one with the black band. This was made from a thin shoe lace type string, on which I threaded the end bits and crushed into place. I then used some beading wire in between, fixed in place with crimps, where I spelt out my word, alternating with little silver beads. I like how this turned out, and since I had so much fun, I decided to make another one.

Anklet 2

For my second anklet, I used beading wire and green and blue beads. This one was made by threading a crimp onto the beading wire, then threading the clasp through, and feeding the beading wire back through the crimp as below, then crushing the crimp in to place to hold it all together. Once in place, I covered up the end with beads. I alternated the green and blue beads until almost half way, then when close to the middle, I added little silver beads and my letter beads alternated as with the first one. Once the letters were done, I added the green and blue beads alternated again. At the end, I closed it off the same way as the start (threaded on a crimp, then the closing clasp, then threaded the end back through the crimp and a few of the other beads before crushing the crimp and trimming the bead wire).

Crimp 2

 

I love how these ended up turning out! I’m not sure which one I prefer, but I know I’ll end up wearing both fairly regularly to have a reminder of my word for the year with me daily. Such a fun way to spend half hour or so on a rainy afternoon!

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

This is project 10 of 26 in my attempt to make 26 crafty projects before turning 27 on 19th June, 2013. The 26 projects idea was inspired by Elise Blaha

See project 12345678, & 9 or all projects on Pinterest

Leave a Reply

