Home Made Pizza

I’ve been wanting to try making a home-made pizza for a while now. I’ve never attempted pizza dough before, and to be honest, I’ve always found it super intimidating! I decide a couple of days ago that I’d finally try it though, when I found a pizza stone for $10 at the shops. Pizza

While there was a little debate over what pizza dough recipe to try, I ended up winning out, and we made this pizza dough recipe recommended by Elise Blaha. I have to say, it was a lot easier to make than I expected, that’s for sure! I ended up mixing the dough up on Wednesday, and left it to rise overnight since we both were hungry. We cooked the pizza on Thursday, and our pizza toppings for this pizza included a tomato sauce for the base, olives, roast chicken, pineapple and mushroom. This ended up being baked for about 20 minutes, which was enough for the topping, but I think the base could have been cooked for slightly longer. I like it crispy!

Pizza 2

Overall, the pizza turned out pretty good. We both rate it about an 8 out of 10, which isn’t too bad since neither of us has tried a pizza from scratch before. We’ve both agreed we want to try a lot more variations though, so we can make amazing pizzas every time. I’m much less intimidated by it now, and to be honest, I’m loving the new recipes we’ve been trying this last week! Next time we’ll use less cheese, and I’ll make sure I take a decent AFTER photo, rather than a horribly lit one from the oven light!

Pizza 3

Since making this, my Uncle who is a chef has suggested that to help the dough rise best, you should leave it out in the sun, or on a warm balcony. While I do find this slightly strange, I think I’ll attempt this and see if it works. No harm in trying, at least 🙂

Leave a Reply

