First Attempt at Greek Salad!

Greek Salad

I finally attempted making it!! I’ve been hooked on greek salad for a while now, but had never made it myself, so I decided that I’d give it a try. I brought all ingredients the other day, and gave it a shot this evening. I think it turned out pretty well for my first attempt too!

Ingredients:

  • 2 punnets Cherry tomato (I prefer these in salads)
  • Bag of mixed lettuce leaves (I like lettuce in Greek salad, even if traditionally it doesn’t have it. The bag of lettuce Michael grabbed had bits of carrot too)
  • 250g olives (seedless)
  • 250g feta cheese
  • 3 Lebanese cucumbers
  • 1 capsicum
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/4 cup white vinegar
  • 1/4 cup olive oil

To make this, I up ended the lettuce in my salad container. I chopped the cherry tomatoes and olive in half, and chopped the cucumber and capsicum in bigger chunks than I usually would for a salad. For the feta cheese, I cut it into cubes then mixed everything together. To make the dressing, stir the oregano, vinegar and olive oil until combined, then pour over the salad.

The olives I brought were from the Coles deli section, and they were amazing and full of flavour. The feta cheese was not. Next time, I’m going to look at different options for feta cheese, maybe see if I can find some different brands to try. We’re not big on salad dressing, so we only made smaller amount. It turned out ok, but next time I want to try balsamic vinegar instead for more flavour.

A note: At this point, I don’t know how well the salad will last compared to the usual garden salad I usually make. The cheese and olives have a lot more moisture in them than I’m used to, so I think this will need to be eaten more quickly. I’ll update once I work it out 🙂

Update: We finished all the salad about 5 days after making it, and it held up ok enough. The lettuce was about the only thing that didn’t hold up overly well, but it was still ok enough to eat. There was a surprising amount of liquid in the salad container though, from the olives and feta, I think.

2 thoughts on “First Attempt at Greek Salad!

Leave a Reply

