One Little Word 2013 – Choose

Last year I decided on my One Little Word for the year (ACHIEVE) and spent a lot of time throughout the year focusing on my word and bringing it into my life. I completed Ali Edward’s One Little Word class last year, and am undertaking it again this year as well.

Choose

This year it took me a little while to decide on my word for the year. I knew I wanted the year to be about focusing on my priorities, but priorities just didn’t seem like the right fit. I cycled through CREATE, DO, MOVE and so many others but nothing seemed to fit until I stumbled on CHOOSE.

I read on a blog somewhere at the end of the year (sorry, I can’t recall which blog it was now) that instead of saying “I don’t have time” for something, you should try rephrasing it to “this is not a priority for me right now”. This shift ate at me for a few days, and I couldn’t get it out of my head. The more I thought about it, the more it bothered me. Instead of saying I don’t have time to exercise or hang out with Michael or visit friends or make things, I realised that instead they just weren’t a priority, which really got me thinking about where I’m choosing to spend my time, and then my word kind of just clicked in place.

I’ve now realised that I get to choose what my priorities are, what my reactions will be to things, which projects to spend my time on, which battles are worth the fight and which should be let go, where my time goes and so many other things. This word is exciting to me and holds so much promise for the year ahead.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

If you don’t know what One Little Word is, you can read more about it in this post from Ali Edwards. I will be undertaking Ali’s One Little Word class again this year, and creating an album about my word and the changes it’s manifesting in my life.

 

Leave a Reply

