One Little Word 2012 – Achieve

I followed along with Ali’s One Little Word class throughout 2012. My word for this year was ACHIEVE. I chose this word because at the start of the year, I felt stagnant in my life, like I wasn’t really making any progress and didn’t really have any direction. I felt like I hadn’t really had any big achievements since finishing uni a few years before, and didn’t really have any goals to work towards. I had numerous goals to work towards, and it seemed like such a fitting word for the year.

1 Title Page2 Jan Prompt

I didn’t complete everything I set out to achieve for the year, but I did make huge progress in many areas and completed a few big projects. I also achieved many different things to what I expected, like starting this blog on a whim back in April. I noticed my goals shifted regularly, but when I focused on things one at a time, I made big leaps. To keep my word with me throughout the year, I also made magnets to spell out ACHIEVE, which you can check out here.

3 March Prompt

4 April Prompt

This year, I’ve followed through and completed tasks, something that I was pretty terrible at previously. I learnt new skills (knitting, skiing, blogging, etc), and improved on others  (organisation, goal setting, photography and Photoshop come to mind!). I did quite a few things that I never thought I would, such as getting a personal trainer, completing the City 2 Surf and buying a block of land.

5 May Prompt

6 May Prompt

I’ve actually completed all of the class prompts as well, except for October, which I just need to have the photos printed for. It’s so awesome to see a tangible product that shows the journey I’ve completed throughout the year! It’s funny to look back at where I thought I would be and where I actually am. Such a worthwhile project to complete, and I would recommend Ali’s class to anyone who’s after an interesting creative challenge!

7 June Prompt8 July and August Prompts

I don’t believe I would have done as much as I did throughout this year if it wasn’t for my focus on achieving throughout the year. My word came to me at a perfect time, and even now, it’s still a perfect fit for me. Even thought I’ll be choosing a new word in 2013, I believe this word will stay with me always.

9 November and December Prompts

2012 has been a great year and has turned out so much better than expected!

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

If you don’t know what One Little Word is, you can read more about it in this post from Ali Edwards. I have undertaken Ali’s One Little Word class this year, and will be undertaking it again in 2013. These pictures are a selection of my 2012 project pages.

Leave a Reply

