26 Projects – Paper Mache Reindeers

I brought these paper mache reindeers in last years after Christmas sales with the intention of decorating them early on in the year so they’d be ready well before this Christmas. In true Jess procrastination style, this didn’t happen! I can happily say though, they’re finally done!

1

I used spray paint on these knowing it would be the easiest way to paint them. I probably should have sanded them off first, but I was too excited to finally get started! I was told at the craft shop when I went looking for varnish that I apparently should have primed them too, but I’m not worried, because they still turned out well! To do the spray painting, I set up an old towel over one of our outdoors chairs, so that the back of the chair was positioned to block any wind. Because of the size and shape of these reindeers, it worked pretty well, I must say!

3

I did 2 coats of gold to start with, and managed to use a whole can of spray paint between the 4 reindeers I’ve done (2 large, 2 small. The photos are of the large ones). The only varnish I could get was a matte varnish at first, and by the time I did a coat of varnish, I hated the look. I knew it would take away the shine, but I didn’t expect the colour to end up so dulled. Michael ended up grabbing me more spray paint and a spray varnish though, so I resprayed them with another coat to get the colour back, and then with a super gloss varnish. So much better!

4

After the paint and varnish was sorted, I made them little wreaths to hang around their necks. These were made with a thin tinsel wire that I picked up from the craft shop. For the bigger ones, I plaited it together to make it a little thicker, and tied it in place with a red bow. For the little ones, it was just one length of the wire with a bow. It seems to have worked pretty well though, so I’m happy with it!

5

I love these guys though! I’ve never been much of a fan of reindeers until the last few years and I’m glad I finally took the time to paint these guys!

6

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

This is project 6 of 26 in my attempt to make 26 crafty projects before turning 27 on 19th June, 2013. The 26 projects idea was inspired by Elise Blaha

See project 123 & 4, or all projects on Pinterest

Leave a Reply

