Healthy Fruit Muffins

Muffins

I spent some time last week baking up a storm and making 3 batches of muffins since I wanted a quick and easy breakfast option. They turned out rather good, so I figured I’d share the recipe here so that I have it when I want to make them again! This recipe makes 9 muffins.

Ingredients:

  • vegetable oil for greasing the muffin tray
  • 2 tablespoons honey (I plan on using 3-4 next time for a little more sweetness)
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1 cup wholemeal self-raising flour
  • 1/2 cup white self-raising flour
  • Fruit (I used 2 bananas for one batch, a punnet of blueberries for another batch, and a punnet of raspberries for the 3rd batch)

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 200°C
  2. Brush muffin pan with oil to grease
  3. Mash banana, or chop berries
  4. Add honey, oil and milk and mix well
  5. Sift in the flours and mix together quickly. It doesn’t matter if the batter is a little lumpy
  6. Spoon mixture into muffin pans and bake for 20 minutes or until a skewer inserted comes out clean

These can be eaten warm or at room temperature. They last for about a week, but can easily be frozen as well. I’ll definitely be making these again though, since 2 of these makes for a great breakfast that really keeps me going throughout the morning.

Leave a Reply

