26 Projects – Curtain

Since we have garage shelves in the lounge room for storage and they look terrible, I’ve been slowly making them all curtains to tidy them up a little. There are 4 shelves in total, and the last 3 were done a long time ago, but I finally gotten around to making one for the newest shelf that we’ve had up for months now!

These curtains are pretty simple to make… I have the fabric cut to the right length from the start, and I cheat a little and don’t actually put proper edges on the sides. I basically hem across the bottom of the curtain with a simple running stitch, then work out what length I need it to be and sew a straight line across the top to hold the curtain wire, and then over-sew the bottom edge of the top part closed so that I can thread the curtain wire though. This has worked extremely well for me, especially since I haven’t been able to get the sewing machine working properly. I’m starting to get pretty quick at this though… The newest curtain only took me about 2 hours to sew, and most of it was doing the over-sewing for the curtain wire.

To hang these, I’ve cut 2 pine pieces into 15cm lengths, and drilled 2 holes in each of them so I can screw through the holes in to the sides of the shelf. I’ve then screwed in a cup hook at the top of each pine piece so that I can hang the curtain wire. The curtain wire I’ve been using is a wire coil coated in plastic and it’s slightly stretchy. At each end, I screw in a eyelet screw, so that I can clip it over the cup hooks to hold it in place. I’ve found this to be the best method overall, with all of my attempts with plastic hooks ending with the weight of the curtains pulling them off the shelf.

This isn’t a very fancy crafty project this time, but I really do like the change it has made in that corner, and I’m now even closer to having that side of the room done up a lot nicer! Excuse the horrible lighting, I realised tonight as I came to post this that I had forgotten to take a photo of the finished thing, so this one was taken at 10pm! Still… Much nicer!

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

This is project 6 of 26 in my attempt to make 26 crafty projects before turning 27 on 19th June, 2013. The 26 projects idea was inspired by Elise Blaha

See project 12 & 3, or all projects on Pinterest

One thought on “26 Projects – Curtain

  1. Pingback: 26 Projects – Stamp Organisation | Inspired Life with Jess

Leave a Reply

