Our Trip in Photos (Part 4)

It’s been a few days, but I’m back with more trip photos! If you missed previous ones, part 1 is here, part 2 is here, and part 3 is here. Let’s start!

Day 9 – We slept in and headed for an all day breakfast when we finally got up, at some random bar who’s name I can’t remember. It was pretty awesome, with bacon, eggs, toast, tomato and hash browns! We wandered around a little before deciding to head jet boating with Kawarau Jet. It was an hour long ride down the Kawarau and Shotover rivers, coming close to the edges and doing awesomely fast turns! Serious fun! The ride in was really bumpy though, and between the turns and the bumps, I thought I was going to be sick, but managed to not hurl, at least! We had a relaxing afternoon afterwards too. In our wanderings, we saw a random bus that reminded me of the Knight Bus from the Harry Potter books (in the movie, it’s 3 stories and purple, though).

Day 10 – We decided to get up early and drive to Dunedin, on the other side of the country today, just because we had a hire car and could. The terrain on the way there changed so often. It was pretty cool and rocky at one point… It would be so much fun for paintball! We headed to the Cadbury factory there for a tour, and had lots of chocolate. It’s a pretty cool at the factory, though. I had to laugh at Michael’s beard hairnet, though! Apparently, the train station at Dunedin is the second most photographed building in the Southern Hemisphere, after the Sydney Opera House, so I had to take a picture. It did look pretty cool though, although my snap was out the car window as we drove past! We drove a different way back to the hotel, past lots of snowy mountains, and managed to almost run out of fuel since there were no petrol stations until most of the way back. For the last 100kms, we were on empty with the fuel light on, and it turns out we had 2 litres of petrol by the time we managed to find somewhere to fill up! I’m still a little shocked that 40 litres of petrol cost us $92!! It was about 4 and a half hours each way. We arrived back late, so we had crappy KFC for dinner.

Day 11 – We spent another day at the ski fields today. We spoke to Blair, the guy at The Remarkables raising funds for the Aspiring Avalanche Dogs with his Snow Cave Project. It was interesting to talk to him and see what he was up to with it. I didn’t get my camera out with me while skiing again today, since I had a few snow photos already. We had seperate lessons today, since Michael went up a level, but I was much more confident today too. After lunch, I chatted with another woman I meet in the lesson, Michelle, and we headed up the first ski lift to check out the ice bar up there. I was a little worried about going up, since I’m scared of heights, but I made it! The view was awesome, too! When we headed back to the hotel, we polished off a bottle of good champagne at the hotel, and headed for a big Indian feast at Freiya’s, which was super awesome!

So that’s it for today, but I’ll be back again in a day or 2 with some more pictures!!

Leave a Reply

