Our Trip in Photos (Part 2)

My last post shared the first few days of the NZ trip me and Michael took at the end of last month. I’ll jump right in where I left off, again with another photo-heavy post.

Day 4 – I woke up with a cold today, so we cancelled the ski booking for the day and instead had a relaxing day. We decided it was a great idea to try the hike up to Bob’s Peak, which overlooks the town. The map said it was an easy 1 hour hike and the views were meant to be amazing, so I figured I’d easily be able to do it. I hope someone reminds me of how torturous it was if I ever decide that hiking uphill with a cold is a good idea again! It took us almost 2 hours to reach the top, and by the time we got there, I was pale, cold and clammy, and a little upset. The view was awesome though! We went lugeing there, which is like go-karts, but your using the downhill slope for speed and it’s so much fun! The ride up on the ski lift was not so fun though… Being scared of heights, it wasn’t the most enjoyable! We caught the gondola back down since it was getting too late to hike it. We so have to try the hang gliding next time too!

**Note: The horse shoe shapes building is our hotel (The Blue Peaks Lodge). The carriages going down the wires are the Gondolas.

Day 5 – We spent another day exploring the town at a nice, relaxed pace. There were lots of colourful flowers in bloom even though it’s still winter there. Dinner was an Winnie’s Pizza, another hidden gem! It looked dead quiet outside, but as soon as you made it upstairs you saw it was packed! We split a half-n-half pizza, Luigi’s Italian on one side, Trifactor on the other, and it was soon good! The steak on the pizza just melted in your mouth! I enjoyed the unique sights like the kiwi door handle.

That’s all the pictures I’m sharing for today, but I’ll be back in a couple of days with some more! I’m really enjoying looking through them all!

Leave a Reply

