26 Projects – Teddy Bear

I was planning on posting some of the NZ pictures today, but due to a sleepless night last night and so much to do today, I ran out of time to get them up, so here is another crafty project I’ve recently made towards my 26 projects goal.

A friend of mine from work has recently had a baby girl, and since I like crafty stuff, I decided that I would make a teddy bear as part of the present for her. Since newborns are so tiny, I decided that I would make a little bear, so I chose a bear that is only about 15 or 20cms tall when made and I think it makes a perfect baby gift!

The first time I ever made one of these bears was when I was a kid, maybe 10 or so. Mum had brought me and Bec a kit to make them, and they turned out super cute! I kept a copy of the pattern so I could make them again, and have on a few occasions.

This one only took me 2 evenings to make. The first night I traced out the pattern on to a very short fabric, and then cut it out and started stitching it. The second night, I finished stitching it together and then added eyes and mouth and stuffed it. I realise now that I’m looking at the picture that I forgot to add a bow to it though, so I’ll have to do that before I catch up with my friend.

I think they turn out super cute, especially considering they’re so quick and easy to make, and have so few parts compared to some of the bears I’ve made in the past, and you can make them all look super different with the variety of patterned fabrics you can get, and bear eyes and ribbons!

I’ve realised that I tend not to take many pictures as I’m actually making a project, so I have try to make more of an effort at getting more of the doing for future projects.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

This is project 6 of 26 in my attempt to make 26 crafty projects before turning 27 on 19th June, 2013. The 26 projects idea was inspired by Elise Blaha

See project 1, or all projects on Pinterest

One thought on “26 Projects – Teddy Bear

  1. Pingback: 26 Projects – Washi Tape Hanger | Inspired Life with Jess

Leave a Reply

