Meet Beast

Meet Beast. He’s my Canon 60D and it was love at first sight! As of today, I’ve decided he’s special enough that I’m no longer going to keep him on auto. I’m going to make more of an effort to learn how to use him. So, today I’ve gotten out a new note-book to record camera settings when I take pictures, and I’m going to spend a good few hours over the weekend messing with camera settings and learning to use it better. I’ve scouted out some photo props (some old Yowie creations I’ve borrowed from Mum) and also found a heap of plants around the area I want to take photos of, so I’ll be spending lots of time wandering and experimenting. I must admit, its times like these when I wish I had kids and pets to use as photography subjects while I experiment though. It would definitely spice things up a little!

Hopefully over the next few weeks, I’ll be sharing lots more photos on my blog that have been taken with Beast rather than my other cameras, and will be starting to get a much better knowledge about shooting in manual. I’m sure there will be many, many crappy photos, but I’m hopeful that there will be at least a few great ones too! And happily, after I’ve spent the last hour searching for my memory card adapter and have finally found it, so I don’t even have to use a different laptop to copy my photos!

So, here’s to fancy cameras, fun photography classes and to learning new skills that will last a lifetime!

Leave a Reply

