Happy Birthday Samantha!!

Me, Samantha and Bec

Dear Samantha,

Happy 19th birthday, my baby sister! It’s hard to believe your growing up so quickly! You’ve finished school now, and at that stage of deciding what you want to do with your life. Your learning what it’s like to be an adult with responsibilities, and you get to try new things and make your own choices in life now.

I remember when you were just a baby. Even though I was only 6 at the time, you were so tiny! I used to read to you a lot of nights before you went to bed when you were little. We’d sit on the bottom bunk in yours and Bec’s room, where it was way to dark to attempt to read, and I’d read the stories you wanted to hear. When you woke up at night for any reason, you’d come in to my room and climb in to bed. We were so close when  you were little!

You don’t know this, but when I moved out of home and you gave me the farewell present of the oil burner and candles, I cried on the train home from homesickness. It was such a sweet gesture! I still have and use the oil burner now, too, and every time I do, it reminds me of how sweet a kid you were!

I’ve gotten to watch you grow up and become the party animal you are now! You’ve changed so much over the last few years as you’ve started to work out who you are and where you want to be in life. I can’t wait to see what you’ll decide to do in the future, and the person you’ll become. I wish you the very best in the years to come. I love you baby sister!

Love Jess

Leave a Reply

