Thankful for…

I had 2 different blog posts that I was planning out today, and couldn’t decide which would be the one to post. Then the events of the day told lead me to this post, where I am super thankful for Michael’s impatience!

I went to a late lunch with Michael today at our local shopping centre. We went to one of the usual places here that does great chicken burgers, and our outing was going well. I’m a slow eater, so Michael finished way before I did, and went to get some donuts, before getting impatient and rushing me along a little. After lunch, we had a look at a new tablet PC I’m looking at getting before our next trip away, and then headed to get some groceries.

When we left, it took us 35 minutes to get out of the car park, and we thought there must have been a big accident on the main road that goes past the shopping centre, since it only takes about 10 minutes to drive home from there usually. There were news helicopters, and people getting out of their cars because the wait was so long, and we didn’t think anything of it.

After arriving back home, we kind of forgot about it and started to get ready for our date night tonight, then headed back to the cinema at the same shopping centre where the girl who served us told us there was a shooting at the shopping centre this afternoon. Our movie started shortly after, so I didn’t think much about it, but after heading home, I read the news about what happened.

A guy hijacked a car at knifepoint about half an hour from here, and was in a crash shortly after. He then stole another car and kept driving. By this stage, he was being followed by a police helicopter, so when he came to the shopping centre, the police were able to follow him in. He ended up in a violent confrontation with a cop, who shot him dead near the food court that we were in just 5-10 minutes earlier!

Luckily, thanks to Michael’s impatience, we were away from it when it happened, and no one else was hurt either. It could have ended up so differently, and we were so close to where all the action happened.

This is the second time I’ve been in a shopping centre where something dangerous like this has happened, although last time no one got hurt. Last time, I was heading to an ATM with my sister just after 3 robbers armed with shotguns came out from robbing the same bank we were heading to… I never would have thought shopping centres could be such dangerous places!

If you want to know more, you can read about it here.

Image taken from Sydney Morning Herald

Leave a Reply

