Cards Maker? Me?

If you asked me a year ago if I was a card maker, the answer would have been a definite NO! I was not inspired to make cards, could not even think of ideas to make them so they’d look nice. The extent of my ability with card making was doodling on a scrap of cardboard, folding it in half and calling it done (on a side note, Michael seems to prefer these types of cards for some reason).

Fastward a year and I’ve discovered I’m making more cards than scrapbooking. And I’m actually loving it! I made the card below on Wednesday evening while sitting at my computer, without even realising what I was doing until half way through!

I’ve realised card making is a great way to use up scraps of paper from whatever projects I’m working on at the time. I’ve done it a few times to clear off my desk since I can use all of the leftovers rather than having to clean up. And it doesn’t take long to make a card, either. I’m getting quicker at making them, and for the last 2 cards I’ve made, I’ve found that I finished them in about 15 minutes or so, and that’s even when I do hand stitching!

I find I make duplicates of some of the cards too, so it makes it even easier to use up scraps and faster to make them as I can do it in a mini production line for them, with all the cutting, inking, gluing, stamping, stitching or whatever else I’m doing.

And the best bit of card making is I now have a stash of about 10 or so cards sitting there that I can use anytime I need a card! Not bad, considering I’ve used a few of them already, and everyone seems to like them. I don’t have photos of them all just yet, but I’ll definitely add more at a later date!

Leave a Reply

